Mission, Vision and Values

Developed by students, parents and staff at Carranballac P-9 College we are proud of our college mission, vision and values and link these important elements into everything we do.


College Mission

Our College fosters excellence in lifelong learners who are resilient, connected and respectful.

College Vision

One college, infinite possibilities, working together, embracing the future.

College Values


Term Dates & School Hours

Supervision officially commences at 8.30am. Therefore, the school takes no responsibility for children before this time. Children are welcome to place their bags near classrooms after 8.30am, before playing out in the playground until the bell rings.

Carranballac currently operates two timetables.  Our Primary students (Foundation – Year 6) are scheduled to the Primary Timetable and our Secondary students (Year 7 – Year 9) are scheduled to our Secondary Timetable.

Primary students

Session 1
Session 2
Recess Bell
Session 3
Session 4
Lunch Eating Time
Lunch Bell
Session 5
End of Day

Primary students attend two morning sessions, followed by recess, another two sessions followed by lunch and then a final session in the afternoon.  Each classroom session runs for 60 minutes.

The school day starts at 8:45am every morning, with students encouraged to arrive between 8:30am-8:40am.  Students arriving after 8:45am will be marked late, resulting in contact from the school to the parents.

Secondary students

Session 1
Session 2
Home Group
Session 3
Session 4
Session 5
Session 6
End of Day

Secondary students classes are scheduled for 50 minutes per lesson, breaking for recess and lunch through the day.  The school day starts at 8:45am every morning, with students encouraged to arrive between 8:30-8:40am. Students arriving after 8:45am will be marked late, resulting in contact from the school to the parents.

Breakfast Club

Breakfast Club runs through the school term on Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 8am – 8:30am at our Boardwalk campus and Thursday and Friday mornings from 8am – 8:30am at our Jamieson Way campus.

To help our Foundation students to settle into a comfortable school situation, during February they will only attend on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. We believe having a day off (Wednesday) in the middle of the week to rest at home will rejuvenate them enough to continue through to Friday.

On days of excessive heat or wet weather, the children will have shortened outside play times or may be indoors during recess or lunch.


If your child will be absent from school, you are required to submit an absence note through COMPASS by 9.30am on the morning of the absence. Alternatively, you may call the school office, ph 9395 3533. Failure to do this will result in an automated text message notifying you of your child’s absence. You will also receive a phone call from a staff member requesting an explanation for your child’s absence.

Late Arrivals and Early Departures

All students who arrive after 8.45am must report to the office to sign in. Those marked as late will require an explanation provided by a parent/carer.
If you would like to pick up your child early, please go to the office to sign them out. Students are not permitted to leave the school prior to 3.00pm without a parent/carer. You may call ahead to have your children waiting at the office for you when you arrive.

2023 Term Dates & Public Holidays

Please Note: Students will be dismissed at 3pm on the last day of each term

2023 Term Dates
Term 1
Friday 27 January - Thursday 6 April
Term 2
Monday 24 April - Friday 23 June
Term 3
Monday 10 July - Friday 15 September
Term 4
Monday 2 October - Wednesday 20 December
(3pm dismissal)
2023 Curriculum Days & Public Holidays
(Students do not come to School on these Days)
Term 1
Thursday 26 January
Australia Day Public Holiday
Friday 27 January
Curriculum Day
Wednesday 1 March
Curriculum Day
Monday 13 March
Labour Day Public Holiday
Friday 7 April
Good Friday Public Holiday
Term 2
Tuesday 25 April
Friday 9 June
Curriculum Day
Monday 12 June
King's Birthday Public Holiday
Term 3
Wednesday 9 August
Curriculum Day
Term 4
Tuesday 7 November
Melbourne Cup Public Holiday
Friday 24 November
Professional Practice Pupil Free Day
Wednesday 20 December
Pupil Free Day

Policies & Plans

View All Policies

Aboriginal Action Plan

Accident Recording Reporting Policy

Administration Of Medication Policy

Anaphylaxis Management Policy

Asthma Management Policy

Attendance Policy

Bullying Prevention Policy

Camps And Excursions Policy

Care Arrangements For Ill Children

CCTV Policy

Child Safe Code Of Conduct

Child Safe Policy

Child Safe Statement Of Commitment

Child Safety Responding And Reporting Obligations Policy

Children At Risk Policy Updated August

Collection Statement Primary School

Collection Statement Secondary School

Communication Procedures And Schedule Policy

Complaints Policy

Critical Incident Plan

Curriculum Framework Policy

Data Analysis Policy

Digital Learning Policy

Duty Of Care Yard Duty And Supervision Policy

Emergency Critical Incident Policy

Emergency Incident Reporting Policy

Emergency Management Plan

Employment Policy

First Aid Policy

Framework For Improving Student Outcomes Policy

Gender Identity Policy

Health Care Needs Policy

Homework Policy – Primary

Homework Policy Secondary

Inclusion And Diversity Policy

Incursions Safety Of Children Working With External Providers Policy

Internet Use Social Media Policy

Mandatory Reporting Child Protection Policy

Medication Policy

Mobile Phone Policy

Mobile Phone Policy

Parent Payments Policy

Personal Property Policy

Photographing And Filming Policy

Privacy Collection Notice

Registers Maintenance Policy

Reporting To Parents Policy

Statement Of School Values And Philosophy

Student Wellbeing And Engagement Policy

Sunsmart Policy

Teaching Learning Policy

Uniform And Dress Code Policy

Visitors Policy

Volunteers Policy

Wellbeing Learning Policy

School Council

2023 School Councillors

Executive Officer
Merridy Patterson

Parent Member Category

School Council President
Matt Nielsen

School Council Vice President
Peter Baird

Finance Sub Committee Convenor
Mark Downes

Rebecca Fountain
Rusaila Bazlamit
Monica Kennedy
Susan Varma
Thanh Vu

Student Member Category

Abdullah Chaudhry

Eloise Pollard


School Employee Member Category

Justine Ryan
Chriss Tracey
Dan Curran
Brett Watson